Disabling registration entirely?

Post here any topics that related to Enigma Protector, its functionality, your misunderstanding, offers to improvements etc etc etc
VA1

Disabling registration entirely?

Post by VA1 »

Hello,

I'm a small time coder and use the Enigma Protector to protect (heh) my applications, but I'm not interested on its registration features - I only want to use it to pack my executables so that no one else can edit them with a hex editor and claim them as their own work. As it stands right now, I'm forced to choose between using the registry, file system or both to store the registration information (a feature of Enigma I'm not even using), but it is not my intention to tinker with users' registries or place hidden files on their system.

Is there a way to avoid that?

Thank you very much in advance.
Enigma
Site Admin

Re: Disabling registration entirely?

Post by Enigma »

Hi,

The process is pretty simple, if you do not use registration features, then it is no difference what options are set in all REGISTRATION FEATURES pages. You may keep these settings by default.

To explain more detailed, there are 2 ways how to use registration:
1. Using registration Enigma API to check registration info
2. Using Registration Dialog feature in REGISTRATION FEATURES (and options Execute Only If Registered on Common panel)
If you do not use any of these 2 options, this means you do not use registration features.
VA1

Post by VA1 »

Hey Enigma,

firstly, thanks for replying!

Secondly,
2. Using Registration Dialog feature in REGISTRATION FEATURES (and options Execute Only If Registered on Common panel)
I have always unticked the checkbox you mention for my projects, but my concern is that even if I do that, a registry key (as per the Registration Features -> Registration Data Storing settings) is still created when running my protected executables.

Code: Select all

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Enigma Protector\F177dxxxxxxxxxxx-b1f2xxxxxxxxxxxx